What are Fair Housing Act standards for building accessibility?

The Fair Housing Act lists seven basic access requirement standards that must be met:

  • An accessible building entrance on an accessible route
  • Accessible common and public use areas
  • Usable doors (usable by a person in a wheelchair)
  • Accessible route into and through the dwelling unit
  • Light switches, electrical outlets, thermostats and other environmental controls in accessible locations
  • Reinforced walls in bathrooms for later installation of grab bars
  • Usable kitchens and bathrooms.

Show All Answers

1. What is housing discrimination?
2. What kind of housing is covered?
3. What kind of housing is not covered?
4. What does "familial status" cover?
5. How does the law define "disability?"
6. Is sexual harassment covered by fair housing law?
7. What are some examples of housing discrimination?
8. Are there additional protections if you have a disability?
9. What are requirements for housing to be accessible?
10. How do fair housing laws apply to families?
11. Does “Senior Housing” fall under the prohibition against familial status discrimination?
12. What are Fair Housing Act standards for building accessibility?
13. Can I be denied housing because I have a Section 8 voucher?
14. If a landlord has a “no pets” policy, can they refuse to rent to me if I need a service animal?